Featured

Goal or No Goal? Czech top division hockey game ends on controversial ruling

On Sunday, the Czech top division match between Hradec Králové (1st) and Liberec (2nd) sparked some controversy on a specific play. After skating to a 3-3 draw, in the second round of shootout, Mazanec (MHK) saved the shot and referee signaled no goal. However a few seconds later, the puck rolled into the goal all in the same play.

Mazanec (Gk of MHK) said that he saw the referee signal “no-goal”, so he didn’t do anything. Yet, after an argument with the captain and coach of MHK, the referee signaled a goal. MHK won the match, so no one was robbed, but I wonder, what do you think about this whole situation?

Here is the play of controversy:

Here’s the NHL rule:

The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete

So here, the puck “deflected” off the goaltender and rolled directly into the goal. By the rules that’s a good goal.

If they were playing by NHL rules, the play isn’t complete until the puck stops or enters the goal. The ref on the goal line did a wash-out signalling no goal, but what the ref signaled doesn’t matter.

It’s worth pointing out that the wash-out (the “no-goal” signal) normally means “play on”. It does not normally indicate an end to the play.

“The call on the ice” is not “The call initially made by a referee.” It’s “The agreed conclusion of the officials on the ice.”

Most of the time that means the initial call by the referee, but officials can consult each other after the play to come to an agreement as to what the call should be.

The second ref did signal a goal on this play and ultimately the call was awarded a goal after discussion.

Do you believe the ending result was indeed correct or did the first ref interfere with his ruling on the play?

Igor Burdetskiy

Igor Burdetskiy

Founder, Editor-in-Chief, & CEO at Hooked on Hockey Magazine
I grew up playing Ball and Roller Hockey day and night somewhat religiously throughout elementary and middle school. The two don't compare though when I lace up the skates and hit the ice. I live and breathe hockey beyond the perspective of "it's just a game" and I will gladly talk hockey for hours with anyone. Hockey is more than just a lifestyle, it's a culture of passionate people who make memories every time the puck is dropped. Hockey has not only helped me get through some of the hardest times in life but has created some of the best memories to date. Want to talk hockey with me? Shoot me an email: iburdetskiy@hookedonhockey.com and let's talk some hockey!
Igor Burdetskiy
Love Reading About Hockey?
Subscribe to keep up-to-date with the latest and most interesting hockey news!
We hate spam just as much as you
0 comments
Back to top button